Passionate melodies

Bedřich SMETANA The Bartered Bride: Overture
Antonín DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto
Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No.4

Asher Fisch conductor
Alban Gerhardt cello 

Smetana’s spirited overture sets the scene for celebration, as one of WASO’s favourite guests, Alban Gerhardt, makes his much-anticipated return with Dvořák’s ever-popular Cello Concerto. Inspired by the composer’s homesick longings and a tragic love, this cornerstone of the repertoire demands the utmost emotional commitment and prowess from its soloist.

With his Fourth Symphony, Tchaikovsky transformed his personal battle with fate into a potent and powerful work of art. Swirling between darkness and light, anguish and hope, Tchaikovsky’s Symphony ultimately triumphs to deliver a  joyous finale of life-affirming energy.

To view the digital program, click here.

Asher Fisch appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts.

We will do everything in our power to present the program listed but we may have to vary the repertoire or artists. If that happens, we will let you know. 


Subscribe and save up to 20% with further discounts available. Choose a Series Subscription Package or Create Your Own. Book your subscription package now!

Reserve A Res B Res C Res^ Choir
Standard $110 $93 $57 $30
Concession* $95 $80 $57 $30
Under 30s* $30 $30 $30 $30

A one-off handling fee of $6.90 per transaction applies to all web, phone, mail and in person bookings.

*ID required - view accepted Concessions here. ^Can be restricted viewing.
When booking your subscription and paying in full, no transaction fees apply.

This event is proudly sponsored by

We think you might also like



Frozen in Concert

Info and Tickets